Modelling Walking Activity in the MSD

2015191500 Note: The ABS defined Melbourne Statistical Division (MSD) includes 31 Local Government Authorities (LGA)s The central sub region is governed by the Melbourne City Council (MCC). Because the MSD is so MCC centric, the morphology of the Melbourne Metropolis for contrasting and comparison purposes is more meaningfully described on this portal as comprising the 30 LGAs plus the MCC. Using 30 LGAs also allows for aggregating Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI) data sets into quintiles for comparison purposes.ranked by the average number of walking trips with origins in each LGA Monday to Friday, The trip number estimates are based on SDI 1994 to 2015 including community feedback from supporters of the TCPA, VATS, VISTA and ABS data sets.

  1. Boroondara, Monash, Whitehorse, Casey*, Port Phillip, Moreland,

  2. Brimbank, Dandenong, Knox, Yarra, Mornington, Stonnington,

  3. Darebin, Glen Eira,Yarra Ranges, Kingston, Hume, Moonee Valley,

  4. Whittlesea, Frankston, Banyule, Manningham, Bayside, Maroondah,

  5. Wyndham, Hobsons Bay, Maribyrnong, Nillumbik, Cardinia,  Melton 

Casey+ is possibly an anomaly and is function a function of weightings, expansion factors and low level response rates to surveys.

 201510171800 Note: Data for this page can be accessed at 


201510191500 last update of this page